The library will be closed from 6pm Thursday December 22 until 10am Wednesday January 11 for the holidays.
Ebooks will still be available from our OverDrive and Libby platforms during this period.
We wish you a very merry festive season and a happy new year.

Board and Staff

The Melbourne Athenaeum is an incorporated association governed by a committee of management,

Office bearers are elected annually at the AGM and one third of the general committee positions are declared vacant at the AGM.

The association's principal activity is to manage a heritage building, provide a recreational library for members, manage an archive and encourage interest in the organisation and its activities.



The Honourable Linda Dessau AC, Governor of Victoria


Committee of Management

Office Bearers

President:                Don Smith

Vice-President:        Barbara Gliddon

Treasurer:                Kevin Quigley

General Committee

Peter Buckingham, Marianne Dunham, Christine Gibbs, Chris Johnson, Matthew Balmford, Sue Reynolds, Anne Wallace


Financial Management

David Pryor, accountant

Caroline Debevc, bookkeeper


Business Manager

Sue Westwood


Marketing and Communications Coordinator

Lawana Coulson



Senior Librarian

Fiona Malcolm

Library and Operations Lead

Jill Semmens


James Baker

Library Staff

Aubrey Flood, Shannon Parsons


Perry Anderson, Lea Beranek, Rhonda Crandle, Norma Gates, Lynne Johnston, Moyra McAllister, Thomas McCrossan, Pat Miller, Susan Munro



Archive Volunteers

Kimberley Hughes, Christine Perkins