The library will be closed on Monday June 13 for the Queen's Birthday public holiday. The library will be open regular hours on Saturday Jun 11.

Literary Awards and Book Lists

The Athenaeum Library's most popular titles of 2021

1.   The yield - Tara June Winch
2.   The dictionary of lost words - Pip Williams
3.   The darkest evening - Ann Cleeves
4.   A song for the dark times - Ian Rankin
5.   Transient desires - Donna Leon
6.   The sentinel - Lee Child
7.   Many rivers to cross - Peter Robinson
8.   Hamnet - Maggie O'Farrell
9.   The survivors - Jane Harper
10. The liar's dictionary - Williams Eley



2021 Booker Prize Shortlist

A passage north - Anuk Arudpragasam
The promise - Damon Galgut     WINNER
No one is talking about this - Patricia Lockwood
The fortune men - Nadifa Mohamed
Bewilderment - Richard Powers
Great circle - Maggie Shipstead

Previous Booker Prize Winners



2021 Miles Franklin Literary Award Shortlist

Amnesty - Aravind Adiga
The rain heron - Robbie Arnott
At the edge of the solid world - Daniel Davis Wood
The labyrinth - Amanda Lohrey     WINNER
Lucky's - Andrew Pippos
The inland sea - Madeleine Watts

Previous Miles Franklin Winners



2022 Stella Prize Shortlist

Take care - Eunice Andrada
Dropbear - Evelyn Araluen     WINNER

No document - Anwen Crawford
Bodies of light - Jennifer Down
Stone fruit - Lee Lai
Homecoming - Elfie Shiosaki

Previous Stella Prize Winners



2021 Prime Minister's Literary Award Winners

Fiction - The labyrinth by Amanda Lohrey
Non-fitcion - The stranger artist by Quentin Sprague
Australian history - People of the river by Grace Karskens
Poetry - The strangest place by Stephen Edgar
Young adult literature - Metal fish, falling snow by Cath Moore
Children's literature - Fly on the wall by Remy Lai and How to make a bird by Meg McKinlay

Previous Prime Minister's Literary Award Winners



2021 Nobel Laureate for Literature

Abdulrazak Gurnah

Titles in our collection: